Pulitzer in Decades

I’m thinking of adding a personal challenge for myself this year.  One of my long-term goals is to read through all the fiction Pulitzer winners, but at the rate I’m going, I’ll never get there.  Olive Kitteridge, for instance, has been sitting on my shelf for over a year now, and there are a few others in my TBR pile that I’ve yet to crack open.

So I think I’ll start reading all the Pulitzer winners that fall on the decades that end in 0. The Pulitzer was first handed out in 1918, and it wasn’t awarded in 1920.  I’ve already read Interpreter of Maladies (several times, because it is awesome), so that leaves me with a very doable list of 7 books to read by the end of the year:

2010 – Tinkers by Paul Harding
2000 – Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
1980 – The Executioner’s Song by Norman Mailer
1970 – The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford
1960 – Advise and Consent by Allen Drury
1950 – The Way West by A.B. Guthrie Jr.
1940 – The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
1930 – Laughing Boy by Oliver La Farge
1920 – N/A

At this new rate, at least I’ll finish in, oh…ten years. 😉

3 comments

    • Melissa

      If it weren’t so late in the year, I’d host this challenge. I might host a challenge next year for all the Pulitzers for years ending in 1.

Leave a Reply

