Signatures

I could not resist this week’s Booking Through Thursday question, because it gives me an opportunity to brag talk reminisce about my beloved Collection:

Do signed copies excite you? Tempt you? Delight you? Or does it not matter to you?

Short answer: Hell yeahhhh!

One of the things I really miss about living in New York is that I got to meet a whole bunch of authors I truly love.  We’re talking favorites here: Junot Diaz (Barnes & Noble Union Square was where my longstanding crush was cemented), Toni Morrison, Jhumpa Lahiri, Jeffrey Eugenides, Joyce Carol Oates.  Barnes & Noble author events in NYC are serious business–and they’re free–so they were some of the few mega-awesome events I could afford!

I think the reason I love my Collection so much is because of the memories it brings.  Those signed pages were meant for me, and I can recall pieces of the conversations I had with those authors.  To this day, seeing Junot’s inscription about my “greatest smile” will make me geek out.  Seeing Jeffrey Eugenides’ signed books recalls the conversation we had about the meaning of my name.

I laugh when I see my signed copy of The Bluest Eye; after telling Morrison that was my favorite book, she commented how she’d know how to write it now if she had to do it over; me and two other Morrison megafans were at the end of the line at the signing and were able to snap a photo with her.

I remember being absolutely captivated by Joyce Carol Oates’ stunning features, superexcited to meet Alex Kapranos (lead singer of Franz Ferdinand), and in awe of Naomi Wolf’s blunt call to activism.  And unless you take the time to study the Collection, only I know that James Frey’s message to me is divided between the three books I handed him to sign (part 1 shown above).

Then there are little “Easter eggs” I occasionally come across.  When I checked Brownsville out of a local library, for instance, I was delighted to come across Oscar Casares’s autograph on the title page. On another note, Jamie Lee Curtis signed a copy of Big Words for Little People for my then-two-year-old nephew.  Perhaps when he’s old enough to understand, that will be his own little “Easter egg” moment.

It’s just fun to study signatures (even if it’s in an amateurish, fanciful way), and see whether the names are completely illegible, or carefully inscribed; a person’s signature can tell so much about oneself.  But bottom line: signed books are so much better if I’m the one getting them!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Mission Accomplished | The Feminist Texican [Reads]

Leave a Reply

