Paris in July: Week 4

I kind of suck because I only did one other PiJ post. Ah, well…

I have 3 songs for this post (kind of to make up for not posting the other weeks, but also just because these songs rule).

Edith Piaf – La Vie En Rose [mp3]: This song just makes me happy (yet sad that I don’t live in France). J’adore Piaf’s voice.

Serge Gainsbourg ft. Brigitte Bardot – Bonnie and Clyde [mp3]: I love this song. It’s strange and mellow and slightly obnoxious after a while, but great to space out to.

Julie Delpy – Waltz for a Night [mp3]: Okay, the song’s not in French. But it’s sung by a French woman that I have a serious girl crush on. This is the song that Julie sings to Ethan Hawke at the end of Before Sunset (which also takes place in France).  I love love love that movie, but if you haven’t seen it and plan to, don’t listen to this song; it’s a major part of the movie.

Story of the Week: “Mademoiselle Cocotte” by Guy De Maupassant

This was a short story (literally). It’s about a man who befriends a dog he names Cocotte. He brings her home and the two are inseparable, but his boss makes him get rid of the Cocotte. He makes repeated failed attempts to ditch her miles from home, but she always finds her way back to him. Finally, he decides that the only way to be rid of her for good is to kill her, so he drowns her in the river; doing so drives him temporarily insane for several months. I won’t give away the ending, but as someone who has done years of work with animal shelters, the story in general was a bit disturbing to me.

And finally, I had planned to cook some French cuisine this week. I even ordered The Vegetarian Table: France in hopes of making something scrumptious (ratatouille, perhaps?). Unfortunately, I’m completely under-enthused by this cookbook.  That’s probably not a fair assessment; I hate to review a cookbook unless I’ve made at least 4-5 recipes. But this is just…not appealing. 😦

2 comments

  1. Tamara

    You have given Paris in July a couple of great musical contritions – what would a celebration of Paris be without La Vie en Rose?? I also really like this version of Bonie and Clyde, thanks for that link. It’s been a great month for making new friends, and I certainly hope to continue to visit. Je vous remerci!

Leave a Reply

