BBAW: Future Treasures

Today’s the last day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week, and to wrap up, we’re supposed to talk about what we enjoyed about BBAW and what our goals are for the coming year.

The best thing about BBAW, hands down, is getting to meet all these new people! I’ve added a whole bunch of new blog feeds to my reader, and I’m sure I’ll be adding more in the coming days as I continue browsing all those blogs. (Hundreds of book blogs!) My book list on Twitter has also grown considerably these past few days.

I also really enjoyed meeting and interviewing Jeanne earlier this week. I think it was a great match, and I’m definitely going to be reading her blog from now on.

As for future goals, I’m in a good place right now, reading wise. My goal for the year was to read 50 books–a goal I’ve had for years but never followed through with–and for once, I’m on top of it (I was doing great last year until Infinite Jest happened). At this rate, I’ll surpass my goal. I don’t think I’ll shoot for more books next year because I don’t want to sacrifice the quality of my reading just to hit a bigger number. Reading chunksters takes more time, and I don’t want to give them up.

I also just created the Cinco By Mayo reading challenge (note to self: now I have to work on, uh, actually publicizing it). Don’t know how it’ll turn out since people are all challenged out by this time of the year, but we’ll see…

Speaking of publicizing, that actually requires reaching out to the community. While I’m not exactly a hermit, I could definitely do more to start communicating with other bloggers (I’m more of a lurker).

I do have a horrible habit of trying to finish books I’m clearly not enjoying, and I need to stop that! It’s a waste of time, and I’m pissed off by the time I finish the book.

And finally, I need to stop procrastinating with reviews! Bad, bad habit.

4 comments

  1. Marieke

    I’m swimming in book recommendations and new blog connections and it does feel like it’s been a long week! But a good one. Good luck with your reading challenge!

Leave a Reply

