BTT: Skeletons

Today’s Booking Through Thursday question is about reading skeletons: “What reading skeletons do you have in your closet? Books you’d be ashamed to let people know you love? Addiction to the worst kind of (fill in cheesy genre here)? Your old collection of Bobbsey Twin Mysteries lovingly stored behind your “grown-up” books? You get the picture … come on, confess!”

Fine, here goes. You have Oprah to thank for both of these:

I often have to defend my stance on James Frey, especially when it comes to A Million Little Pieces. And after meeting Frey at a signing, I like him as a person, too. He’s dorky. Bright Shiny Morning got a little grating at times (and even then…I LIKED IT), but the whole lack of punctuation thing worked well for the pacing/events in A Million Little Pieces. I know he pissed a lot of people off with the whole fake memoir thing, but I feel like I’m the only person who read the part that said, “names and events have been changed to protect people.” When I first finished the book, the first thing that went through my mind was, “Huh. I wonder how much was actually real.” So the whole, “YOU BETRAYED US” thing? I don’t get it.

Then there’s a book that I treated like an actual skeleton: What Your Mother Never Told You About S-e-x. I bought this book a long time ago, but since it had S-E-X on the cover, I kept it on my bookshelf either buried in a stack on a low shelf, or shelved with the spine facing the back and the pages facing the front. It’s pretty funny now to think about how I went to great pains to hide it from everyone, especially since I once left my copy of Cunt sitting right there in the open in the bathroom! (For the record: What Your Mother Never Told You is a pretty good health book–think Our Bodies, Ourselves, but geared for a younger crowd. And, of course, Cunt is a classic.)

There are other skeletons–I was a die-hard Sweet Valley addict growing up, and you’d better believe I’m buying the new, long-awaited Sweet Valley Confidential when it drops next year. Most of my shelves contain literary fiction or non-fiction, but I also loved The Nanny Diaries, The Devil Wears Prada, and Bridget Jones’s Diary. I’m not embarassed or ashamed for having read/liked these books, but I almost never bring them up in coversation unless the subject comes up.

But I think those two books I first mentioned are my fave “skeletons.” Feel free to mention any of the above the next time I get book snobby. 🙂

Photo Credit: Jose Pulido, who has an Etsy shop that I need a Star Wars tote bag from (and I don’t even like Star Wars!)
One comment

Leave a Reply

