Wrapping Up: Women Unbound

Women Unbound was one of my favorite challenges this year. The goal was to read women’s studies-related fiction and nonfiction (a very broad term), and the the number you had to read depended on the level you signed up for. Even though I started the challenge late, I’m a women’s history nerd and went for level 3; I had to read 8 books, 3 of which had to be nonfiction. I’m not going to list them all again (you can see the full list here), but I ended up reading more than twice that amount!

Favorite Fiction: Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok [review]

What a great book. I listened to it on audiobook, and I couldn’t wait to get in my car and drive to work every day just to I could hear how the book turned out.

Favorite Nonfiction: Beauty Shop Politics: African American Women’s Activism in the Beauty Industry by Tiffany M. Gill [review]

I lovedlovedloved this book.  I reviewed it for Elevate Difference earlier this year, and I could not put it down. It’s my nonfiction book of the year.

Favorite Memoir: The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance by Elna Baker [review]

A couple of my friends had been telling me to read this book for a while, and I’m glad I finally did. After I finished, I promptly had my sister read it too (she loved it).

Least favorite book: Malinche by Laura Esquivel [review]

Ever felt like throwing a book across the room in anger? Because that’s all I felt while reading Malinche. It’s an awful book.

Leave a Reply

