In My Mailbox: 12/12/10

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

This is going up a day late because my brother borrowed by camera for the weekend. But I’m super excited to share what came in my mailbox this week because…my Secret Santa package came in the mail on Saturday!  And I immediately put one of my gifts to use, because it is the greatest invention ever!

My Secret Santa was Terri from Alexia’s Books and Such…, and she sent lots of awesome (and color-coordinated!) stuff:

Little Rufus Approves

Little Rufus approves. He invited himself to this photo shoot.

  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  • The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • A super cute little journal to write in (one can never have too many journals)
  • Bookmarks! Including one that has pointy post-its attached to it!

I’ve talked about my questionable quote-collecting methods in the past; in fact, right when the mailman was ringing my doorbell, I was sitting with The Piano Teacher in hand, kicking myself for using all three methods on this book (and failing spectacularly).  So thank you, Terri, for the bookmarks–and that one in particular. I have one other bookmark, and it’s currently stuck somewhere in Gender Outlaws. The “bookmark” I was using in The Piano Teacher was the book’s due date card. 😕

I’m also really excited about the books. I’d already decided to read some Dostoevsky this year, so I am definitely busting out The Brothers Karamazov in the near future. As for The Time Traveler’s Wife, I love the movie (hel-lo Eric Bana), and I’m going to be reading the book for the What’s in a Name? 4 challenge.

Thank you Terri!  I don’t think your choices could’ve been any more perfect! 😀

As for other mailbox arrivals…one of them is top secret because it’s a gift for someone and I can’t announce it. The other arrival is also a gift, but that person does not read this blog, so I can divulge that title: I bought Elna Baker’s The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance for a friend. She’ll love it. (I hope.)

2 comments

  1. Alexia561

    So glad that you liked your gifts! I seriously love those bookmarks, and you’re right about how you can never having too many journals. Happy Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

