In My Mailbox: 1/2/11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

I didn’t have a chance to post my IMM last week, so I’m posting it this week instead. I just wanted to share because I got a package from HarperCollins full of ARCs (excuse the crappy framing, btw. My camera kept shutting off due to its dead battery):

That gorgeous package is Michael David Lukas’s The Oracle of Stamboul. I almost didn’t want to unwrap the book because it looked so pretty. The inside of the wrapping is all gold. I swear I was a cat in my former life, because I’m easily distracted by shiny things. So of course, I immediately wanted to read this book. I finished it in 2 days, but I won’t talk about it until it’s released in February.

The other two books in the background are She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth by Helen Castor and Heat Wave: The Life and Career of Ethel Waters by Donald Bogle. I look forward to reading those because they’re going to be published right in time for Women’s History Month.

I’m super excited about another package I received in the mail. It was my Christmas present to myself: I finally splurged on the new edition of Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex! Pricey little sucker, but now it’s alllll miiiiine!!! I’ve never read The Second Sex because I refused to read the first edition due to translation issues. This new translation, which came out earlier last year, is unabridged and…non-translation-issuey? It’s also hardcover and deckle-edged and pretty. And big. The (much cheaper) paperback edition comes out in May, so the price of the hardcovers will probably go down some in a few months, but I don’t care. I really wanted this book.

Sadly, I don’t anticipate anything other than bills in my mailbox in the near future, so this will probably be my last IMM for a few weeks. Boo. 😦

3 comments

  1. amymckie

    Oohhh fantastic books there. The new Second Sex looks fantastic, I’m bummed to have the old one but will be interested to compare my thoughts with yours!!

Leave a Reply

