In My Mailbox: 1/30/11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

I got lots of cool stuff this week:

Last week I received an ARC of Reading Women: How the Great Books of Feminism Changed My Life by Stephanie Staal via Public Affairs. In this memoir, Staal rereads several of the books she first read during her Feminism 101 course she took at Barnard College. I’m really excited about this one for a couple of reasons. First, I’m reading a few of these books myself this year for the Year of Feminist Classics project, plus several more of the titles are on my Fill in the Gaps list. And well…I’m a nerd for anything related to women’s studies!

A few days ago I received an ARC of House Divided by Raul Ramos y Sanchez via Hachette Book Group. I’m always on the lookout for fiction by Latin@s, so this week I look forward to reading this drama set in “war-torn Southern California.” Plus: pssst…keep your eyes peeled for some Ramos y Sanchez-related awesomeness coming soon!

If you look at the bottom of the picture, you’ll see my brand-spankin’ new CueCat! As I mentioned in my Bloggiesta wrap-up post, I impulsively bought one after Jenn mentioned it. I couldn’t figure it out at first, but once I read a tutorial and got the hang of it, I couldn’t put it down! My LibraryThing account, which has been dormant for most of its 4.5 year old life, is now maxed out (the only thing keeping me from using LT all these years was my laziness–I didn’t want to type in the titles of all the books I own). Now you can see 200 of my books. 🙂 As an aside: my brother was incredulous that I’d bought a CueCat because according to him, they’ve been around for like two decades. He says he got several for free several years ago because Radio Shack was giving them away, they were so old. Lotta good that does me. Whatever. I like mine!

On the e-galley front…

Harper Books was kind enough to hook me up with a copy of Peggy Orenstein’s Cinderella Ate My Daughter. Everywhere I look, the book is getting fantastic reviews (although when I mentioned this on Twitter, Orenstein responded that Disney hadn’t been quite so kind!). Again, women’s studies/media studies/feminism-y type of books send me to nerd heaven, so this one is high on my TBR list!

And finally, I’d seen Joyce Carol Oates’s upcoming memoir, A Widow’s Story, on NetGalley a while back, but I kept putting off requesting it because my TBR pile is massive. But this week, I could no longer resist: Ecco hooked me up with a copy. I started the book late Wednesday night and promptly devoured it! As the title suggests, the book is about her experiences following the sudden death of her husband of 47 years. I’ll post my thoughts in a couple of weeks when the book is published.

In other news, I’d just like to say…TBR Dare? What TBR Dare? 😉

One comment

Leave a Reply

