Teaser Tuesdays: 3/8/11

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

I’ve never done Teaser Tuesdays before because I always remember it way after the fact (i.e., Wednesday). But this week I finally remembered! Yay me! It was a little tricky randomly selecting a page on my nook, but I eventually managed.

In honor of Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day, I present an nonfiction example of what women were expected to put up with at the turn of last century (and sometimes still are):

Women have made a great mistake in supposing that the source of love is sleeping together in bed. Surely the origin of this notion is those hateful old women who, like dragons and leviathans, devour men and who first conceived this miserable idea of a bed for two.

–From The Education of Women by Anonymous, p. 68

5 comments

Leave a Reply

