Book Beginnings: 5/6/11

Book Beginnings is a weekly meme hosted by A Few More Pages.

The first paragraph of the first short story, “The Rememberer,” in The Girl in the Flammable Skirt: Stories by Aimee Bender:

My lover is experiencing reverse evolution. I tell no one. I don’t know how it happened, only that one day he was my lover and the next he was some kind of ape. It’s been a month and now he’s a sea turtle.

I went on a book buying spree recently. I’d originally just planned to repurchase (and reread) Aimee Bender’s Willful Creatures, but I also ended up finding a cheap used copy of The Girl in the Flammable Skirt and couldn’t resist bumping it up to the top of my TBR pile! So far, I’m not disappointed. Reading that opening paragraph made me smile. I hope the rest of the book is equally weird.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Quickies: The White Tiger & The Girl in the Flammable Skirt | The Feminist Texican [Reads]

Leave a Reply

