In My Mailbox: 5/8/11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

First off, happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers, mother figures, and mothers-to-be out there! Hope you have a good one! 🙂

I went on a serious online shopping spree this week and loaded up on lots of short story collections. I’ve been complaining lately that I lost my copy of Willful Creatures, so I just went ahead and got another one. I also finally bought Miranda July’s short story collection. I read it when it first came out via library loan and have been wanting my own copy ever since:

4 comments

  1. Rachel

    Have you read any Sherman Alexie previously? The one you just bought is the first book of his I ever read – there are several other good ones, too.

    • Melissa

      I’ve read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian and War Dances. He’s such a great writer! I really want to read all of his books.

  2. Vasilly

    The Girl in the Flammable Skirt is a book I read about a decade ago. I don’t remember much about the collection though I know I enjoyed it. Happy reading.

  3. Hira Hasnain

    I like Aimee Bender and her work, but haven’t read “The Girl in the Inflammable Skirt”, so that definitely interests me. I love almost everything by David Sedaris, and “Look At Me” by Jennifer Egan, I’ve been dying to read – so you’ve got a great set of books there. Happy Reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

