Armchair BEA Day 1: Hello!

← This is Stella, and she’ll be my cohost for today.

If you’re a non-book blogging/book industry-following reader: Armchair BEA is a weeklong virtual convention coinciding with Book Expo America and the Book Blogger Convention this week in NYC. I’m one of the Armchair BEA sponsors this year, so expect to see a Armchair BEA posts all week long. I’m expecting more traffic than usual this week because of this event, so this is just going to be a quick introductory post.

If you’re a new reader stopping by via Armchair BEA 2011, welcome! I’m Melissa. As you may have gathered from my blog’s header, I’m a feminist, I live in Texas, I’m Mexican American, I love Frida Kahlo, and I’m (madly) in love with Junot Diaz. Seriously.

I’ve had this blog for about a year and a half and I love it (you can read about my blogging history here). I started out with my head stuck in literary fiction, women’s studies-related nonfiction, and fiction by people of color, but the blog has since morphed into an eclectic mix of genres. I still read a ton of books in the aforementioned areas, but I also read random stuff on a whim.

I’ll be Armchair BEA-ing from home this week; Stella might “help” by walking all over my keyboard at inopportune moments. 😉 I hope to meet lots of new book bloggers and learn about all the new books coming out. And of course, I can’t wait to see what everyone’s writing this week (so by all means, feel free to promote your latest post in the comments)!

4 comments

  1. izzybella

    I had to click on your link from BEA solely because you call yourself the Feminist Texican. As a feminist Texicaucasion (that’s what my Mexican best friend refers to me as) I figured I’d like you just fine. 🙂

    Happy to meet you and look forward to exploring your blog more!

    Izzybella (of Quirky Girls Read)

  2. The1stdaughter (Danielle)

    Love the blog, especially your banner! Don’t you love that book blogging sends you to other books you may have never tried before? It’s fantastic!

    On behalf of the Armchair BEA organizers thanks so much for participating! We really are so happy to have you!

Leave a Reply

