Armchair BEA Day 4 (a.k.a. HarperCollins and Hachette Book Group Appreciation Day)

← My co-host for today is little Renée.

Yesterday I spread the love among three Texas bloggers (and was so happy that a few more Texans introduced themselves–hi y’all!). Today I’m shifting my love to a couple of publishers that I’m so happy to have established a relationship with. If you’re a new blogger* who’s trying to build up some relationships with publishers, HarperCollins and Hachette Book Group are extremely blogger-friendly. But more specifically, there are three people I want to say a big thank you to:

First up: Erica Barmash! Many of you know her as the person behind The Olive Reader, Harper Perennial’s blog. She is awesome and is loved by many for a reason. 😉 She also periodically posts a contact list of people to reach out to regarding review copy requests!

Another person I want to give a shout out to is Mark Ferguson, who works at Harper Books. Mark has been so nice about both offering books and fulfilling the couple of requests I’ve contacted him about. He’s terrific! 🙂

And finally, I want to thank Valerie Russo. She no longer works at Hachette Book Group, but I want to thank her nonetheless because she was one of the first publicists to reach out to me; in fact, she contacted me before I even started book blogging here (it was for a women’s history-related book review for my other blog). Once I started this blog, she was more than happy to provide ARCs of books by various Latin@ authors, and I discovered many a great book that way.

Muchas gracias, everyone! 🙂

*By “new blogger” I mean someone who’s been book blogging regularly for at least six months. The Story Siren has an excellent series on etiquette when it comes to requesting ARCs from publishers, and you can read more about the six month thing there. 

5 comments

  1. thereadingdate

    It’s so invaluable to build these trusted relationships with publishers, bloggers and authors. Thanks for sharing your tips! I am going to check out The Olive Reader. Love your Frida Kahlo header by the way!

  2. Jeanne

    Chiming in to agree on Mark’s wonderfulness. I can definitely attest that there is absolutely no pressure to give the books he sends a positive review.

Leave a Reply

