In which I return to blogging and talk about a kitten.

Sorry I dropped off the face of the earth with one more day of Armchair BEA to go. I wrote a post on Thursday night that got eaten, then I woke up sick on Friday. My throat is still scratchy, but I’m not walking around in a daze anymore (well, more than usual). I did get a ton of reading done over the weekend though (James Frey! You rock!), so at least there’s that.

Anyway. I’m sad that I didn’t get to feature my final kitty on Friday, so humor me as I do that now:

This is Benicio. When I caught him–next door at my cat hoarder neighbors’ house, naturally–he looked like this and this (warning: graphic), and since he had puffy eyes I named him after Benicio del Toro. I know. That wasn’t nice.

Benzo is adorable and and has a stumpy nub of a tail. At first his prognosis was promising (the above photo was taken 6 days after those other two), but the next day his eyes started going completely white. Two weeks later, I’ve gotten that infection under control, but the vet just informed me that Ben’s corneas are scarred and he’ll probably always be a little blind (he can see somewhat and still runs around the back yard like the best of ’em). I’d originally planned to nurse him back to health, get him neutered, and return him to his mom who lives next door, but since he doesn’t have full vision, I’d hate for him to have to fend for himself outdoors. Luckily, he’s one of the most adoptable cats everand just melts in your arms, so I’m looking for a good home for him. 😦

Okay. Tomorrow we return to our regularly scheduled programming.

5 comments

  1. Hira Hasnain (Enamored Soul)

    OMG, He’s adorable! And what’s wrong with Benicio? I happen to think the man is absolutely FABULOUS in every which way. Awww, as I’ve mentioned before…I wish I lived closer, and had room for a cat…I would most definitely adopt Benzo! My fiance and I plan on adopting pets w/ cataracts (we’d been thinking dogs), since no one ever wants them, and they end up getting put down by the pounds…once we get married and are living together. I’ll check up on Benzo…maybe he could come live with us, then! 😀

    ~Hira~

Leave a Reply

