In My Mailbox: 6/12/11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

Someone please please please stop me from buying books. 😉

I finally bought Vegan Brunch. Yay! I’ve been eyeing it forever because I love brunch. I’m not a vegan (I’m vegetarian), but I do love to try vegan recipes. I’ve had nothing but great results with Moskowitz’s and Romero’s cookbooks (my meat-eating family enjoys the results too), so I look forward to trying some of these recipes. On that note, I picked up Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet while I was at the library. I’ve been curious about it since it came out.

I bought Silver Sparrow because I’ve heard nothing but good things about the book. As for My Wicked Wicked Ways, “La Sandra” is coming to the college where I teach in October (*SQUEAL*), so I’m trying to buy all her books I don’t already own. I heavily incorporated Caramelo into my master’s thesis, so I’m seriously excited about seeing her.

The other books were on sale for a really, really great price. I’m particularly looking forward to Annie John. I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never read any Jamaica Kincaid. I saw her speak in NYC a couple of years ago (with my Junot, swoon) and I’ve been wanting to read some of her books ever since.

Annie John by Jamaica Kincaid | Published 6.30.97 | Purchase
I Left My Back Door Open by April Sinclair | Published 4.26.00 | Purchase
My Wicked Wicked Ways by Sandra Cisneros | Published 11.17.92 | Purchase
Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones | Published 5.24.11 | Purchase
The House of Bilqis by Azhar Abidi | Reprinted 3.30.10 | Purchase
The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone | Published 10.13.09 | Library
Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz | Published 5.26.09 | Purchase
Water for Elephants (audiobook) by Sara Gruen | Published 4.9.07 | Library

2 comments

  1. amymckie

    Yay to Silver Sparrow especially! I haven’t read it yet but really loved Jones’ previous two books. A lot of great titles here to keep you reading though!

Leave a Reply

