Taking stock of 2011 (so far)

I cannot believe that half a year has already passed.

At the beginning of the year, I once again set a goal of reading 50 books in 2011. I knew I’d pass that amount (I read 72 last year), but if life got hectic, I didn’t want to feel like I had to read. Yeah, well…I’ve read 51 books so far already, so it doesn’t make sense to keep my goal at 50, does it? I’ve changed my official goal to 75 books (though according to Goodreads, I’m 18% ahead of that schedule, too).

Challenge-wise, I’ve let things slide. I’m still keeping track of where I stand on challenges, but I keep forgetting to tag my reviews. I need to get on that.

So far, it’s been a great year. I’m reading a lot more than I did last year, and I’m listening to more audiobooks, too. Some of my favorites so far:

Fiction:

Nonfiction/memoir:

I think the most surprising thing about my reading habits so far this year is how often I’ve been using my nook. I’ve had it for a little over a year, but last year I only read a handful of books on it. Quite honestly, I used it more for sudoku than I did for reading. This year has been the opposite; almost half of my reading has been done on my nook! Weird.

Another thing I’ve noticed is how much nonfiction I’ve been reading lately–24 of the 51 books I’ve read this year have been nonfiction! While I’ve always enjoyed nonfiction, I don’t think I’ve read this large a percentage of it since grad school! I’m not sure why that is, but I do think part of it is that I find it much easier to juggle multiple nonfiction books at a time than it is to juggle multiple fiction books. I used to be really adamant about reading only one book at a time, but some time towards the end of last year I discovered that as long as the genres I’m juggling are very different, I actually do enjoy reading a few different books at a time (though I still prefer to devote my attention to only one fictional work at a time).

Have you encountered any weird changes in your reading habits as of late? What are some of your favorites so far this year? Do tell!

2 comments

  1. amymckie

    What a great year for you, some great titles there too. I find it took me time to grow to love my Kindle too so not surprised you are using it more this year! All the best with the second half of the year.

  2. Eva

    I got my Nook for Christmas and didn’t really start using it for a couple of months, but now I love it! 😉 Off to read your review of the Chalabi; I missed it the first time around.

Leave a Reply

