In My Mailbox: 7/24/11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

Gah! I haven’t done In My Mailbox in over a month. As you can imagine, I’ve had a ton of acquisitions since then! I decided to squirm my way out of formatting a massive post by recording my first vlog. It was…interesting. I think I look stoned, and I apologize in advance for the number of times I say “next up.” 😉

Complete list of books discussed after the jump.

  1. Miss Timmins’ School for Girls by Nayana Currimbhoy  | from publisher
  2. The Good Muslim by Tahmima Anam  | from publisher
  3. This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman  | from publisher
  4. Ellis Island by Kate Kerrigan  | from publisher
  5. Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy  | from publisher
  6. The Beekeeper’s Lament by Hannah Nordhaus  | from publisher
  7. The Marriage Bureau for Rich People by Farahad Zama | purchase
  8. Gate of the Sun by Elias Khoury | purchase
  9. The Nimrod Flipout by Etgar Keret | purchase
  10. Sister Species: Women, Animals, and Social Justice ed. by Lisa A. Kemmerer  | from publisher
  11. Fox Girl by Nora Okja Keller | purchase
  12. Cross Over Water by Richard Yañez | from publisher
  13. No One Belongs Here More Than You (audiobook) by Miranda July | purchase
  14. Unnatural Selection: Choosing Boys Over Girls and the Consequences of a World Full of Men by Mara Hvistendahl  | from publisher
  15. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert | purchase
  16. The Day Nina Simone Stopped Singing by Darina Al-Joundi | From Vasilly 🙂
  17. American and the Pill: A History of Promise, Peril, and Liberation by Elaine Tyler May | purchase
  18. The Cigar Roller by Pablo Medina  | purchase
  19. Captain of the Sleepers by Mayra | purchase
  20. River Woman by Donna Hemans | purchase
  21. Women with Big Eyes by Angeles Mastretta | purchase
5 comments

  1. Cassandra Neace

    I don’t normally watch the vlogs for IMM – not all the way. A lot of the participants have way different tastes than me. I was very interested by your list, though. I wanted to hear what you had to say. I want to read so much of what you have! I love the international flavor.

  2. amymckie

    Love the vlog! Your hair looks great 🙂 Fantastic list of books, I really enjoyed The Day Nina Simone Stopped Singing and Unnatural Selection. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on all of these – especially the nerdy ones 🙂 and ESPECIALLY America and the Pill!

Leave a Reply

