Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love But Never Reviewed

I had to participate in today’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish). It’s actually a topic I’ve been thinking about a lot recently: books I adore but have never reviewed. This is something I think about from time to time, but I was looking at my review directory a few weeks ago and realized that I’ve never reviewed any of my favorite books. Ever. I must remedy that pronto.

1. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

This book was assigned to me in an English class about ten or eleven years ago. I don’t think I’ve ever been that devastated by a book. The Bluest Eye sits at the top of my list of favorites, and I’m probably going to read it again fairly soon.

2. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

I know. I’ve professed my undying love for Junot countless times and the book is even incorporated into my blog header, and I’ve never reviewed it. Makes no sense. But Oscar Wao is right up there with The Bluest Eye on my list of faves. I’ve read it twice (pre-book blog) and plan to end this year with another re-read, so there will definitely be a review lovefest of this book sometime in January.

3. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

I read the book last December and was positively blown away. I never wrote a review because I got stuck: it’s a masterpiece, and I don’t know what else to say. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read, and I can’t believe I had never read Steinbeck until last year.

4. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

Here’s another one I read multiple times pre-book blog but haven’t reviewed. This is my favorite book by Lahiri and one of my top 2 favorite short story collections.

5. Willful Creatures by Aimee Bender

Here’s the other book at the top of my short story collection list (technically, they’re both tied for #1–I love them both for very different reasons). It’s weird and creepy and I positively adore it.

6. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

I seriously love me some Tolstoy. I finally read Anna Karenina last summer, and just…*sigh of contentment*. But I never reviewed it! The book is just so sprawling in scope that I honestly didn’t even know where to start my review. All I can say is that the book is fabulous.

7. Cunt: A Declaration of Independence by Inga Muscio

I read this book years ago and occasionally go back to peruse random parts of it; I’m definitely due for a proper reread. The book is raw and fierce (in case you couldn’t tell by the title), and it’s a must-have for every feminist bookshelf.

8. Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros

I gave a copy of this away during last year’s Book Blogger Appreciation Week because I love it. But since I read it before I started this blog, I never got a chance to review it. Cisneros is giving a reading in my area in October *squeal* so I’ll probably be reading–and reviewing–this soon.

9. Kindred by Octavia Butler

This was the first (and so far only) book by Octavia Butler that I’ve read, but I loved it. I even used it in the classroom one semester and it went over really well with students. I absolutely must read more by Butler.

10. No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July

I mentioned this book recently in my first vlog. I read it a few years ago when it first came out, finally bought a copy a few months ago, then ended up buying the audiobook as well. I plan to listen to it by the end of the year, so shouldn’t remain in the “unreviewed” category much longer!

8 comments

  1. Ellen Rhudy

    What a great list. I’ve only read about half the books on here, but I’ve noticed I do the same thing with reviews at my blog – if I like a book too much, I can’t think of anything to say beyond, “This is stunning. Read it now.” I’d like to reread Anna K and write something up on it, but as you wrote about The Grapes of Wrath…how do I find something more to say than that it’s a masterpiece, or come up with something that hasn’t been said countless times before?

  2. Kate

    Brilliant list! I read Anna Karenina a couple of years ago as part of an online “support group” that sort of fizzled out, so I have all of my (lots of) posts over on my blog. I’m really glad that I read it that way as well, taking the time to stop and write about the bits and pieces that struck me instead of trying to do an overall review. There was just too much to say and too much to gnaw on for one review.

    The only Cisneros I’ve read was The House on Mango Street, which was a part of my required reading at University for a world cultures series (liberal arts school, of course.) I loved the book and don’t know why I’ve never gone back for more. Thanks for pointing out a good new read for me.

    Happy reading!

  3. Laura

    I never think about MIranda July until I see it somewhere and I remember how much I liked it. Grapes of Wrath is also wonderful. I always forget Steinbeck on my lists as well.

    Come check out my list this week at The Scarlet Letter.

    P.S. Love the blog

  4. Eva

    Ohhh, I also read and loved and didn’t blog Cunt, Kindred, and Interpreter of Maladies. I love and have blogged AK and Caramelo…which means I obviously need to read the other ones on this list! 😉

  5. selena

    anna karenina is one of those books where it feels like just reading it is enough of a feat. i have yet to read cunt (my feminist/politics tbr shelf is endlessly long).

Leave a Reply

