I Am So Depressed I Feel Like Jumping in the River Behind My House but Won’t Because I’m Thirty-Eight and Not Eighteen

By Sandra Cisneros
From Loose Woman: Poems

Bring me a drink.
I need to think a little.
Paper. Pen.
And I could use the stink
of a good cigar–even
though the sun’s out.
The grackles in the trees.
The grackles inside my heart.
Broken feathers and stiff wings.

I could jump.
But I don’t.
You could kill me.
But you won’t.

The grackles
calling to each other.
The long hours.
The long hours.
The long hours.

4 comments

  1. MorganRae

    going through my blue period second this month. completely get it. I want to jump to. The black dog is calling & it wants me to die.

    • Melissa

      MorganRae, I tried to email you at the address you left, but it bounced back. I don’t know if you’ll be back to see this, but if you need someone to talk to, you can call the 24/7 National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK. You can also email me any time at thefeministtexican @ gmail.com, okay? *hugs*

Leave a Reply

