Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Day 1

Yay! One of my favorite weeks of the year is here! This past week has been really rough for me and yesterday was the final blow, so I was debating whether or not I even had the energy to fully participate in BBAW anymore. But now that it’s here and I’m making myself get back to writing, I can already feel my mood getting lighter. Last year was the first time I participated in BBAW, and I loved it because I got to find out about so many new bloggers. It’s a great community to be a part of.

If you’re new to this blog, Harvey the Ditz and I welcome you (that video was taken a couple of months ago, but he still does that). I’d also like to take this moment to thank everyone who voted for this blog for the 2011 Best Cultural Book Blog category. It was an honor to be shortlisted alongside S. Krishna Reads and In Spring it is the Dawn; both of those blogs are fantastic, so I’m in great company.

One thing about this week–I probably won’t participate on Thursday because that’s the first day of Latina/o Heritage Month, so I’m going to post about something related to that instead (FYI: I’ll be posting about Latina/o literature throughout the month). But other than that, I look forward to celebrating book bloggers this week. I’ve got a giveaway I’m really really really excited about–details Wednesday!–and I can’t wait to add even more blogs to my Google Reader.

Today is all about blogger love, and I have tons of that for you today:

Blog that has most contributed to make my TBR list ridiculously long… A Striped Armchair

Blogger who is always blowing me away with her awesome reading projects… Amy Reads

Bloggers I’m dying to grab a coffee and chat with…Picky Girl, Indie Reader Houston, and A Striped Armchair (Pssst! Let’s make this happen at the Texas Book Festival!)

Bloggers whose couches I’d like to crash on if I ever go abroad… Iris on Books and Kinna Reads

Blogger I’ve known the longest without even realizing it… Paperback Reader

Blogs I lurk in for news on Chicano/a literature… Aztlán Reads and Pluma Fronteriza

Bloggers whose shelves I’d like to visually inspect… Necromancy Never PaysS. Krishna Reads, and Unabridged Chick.

Bloggers I want to meet next time I’m on the east coast… Bonjour, Cass! and Linus’s Blanket

Blog I go to when I need a music-infused literary fix… Largehearted Boy

14 comments

  1. amymckie

    Oh wow some really fantastic blogs here, some that I’m really excited to now know about. Thank you so much for listing me as well 🙂 And I’d love to meet Kinna as well!

  2. Iris

    You’d be welcome if you ever want to visit the Netherlands (though I’m not sure why you’d pick the country out of all the others in the world :P). I am flattered you named me and in such great company too, thank you so much.

  3. Ellen Rhudy

    So many blogs on here that I love. I guess it’s time for me to start checking the others out – I am so excited for (ok, or a little intimidated by the thought of) all the new blogs I’ll be learning about this week.

  4. Eva

    Yes: I *will* be coming to the TX Book Festival this year, and I can’t wait to meet you! 😀 Wonderful list of bloggers, including one or two new to me. Just what I need: more subscriptions in my feed reader! 😉

    I’m excited about your Latin@ Month plans too! You add way too much to my wish list. :p

  5. the picky girl

    Yea! Cannot wait for the TX Book Festival, so I can meet you and Eva. I was lucky enough to meet Cassandra before BEA and got to hang out with here there. We will have so much fun!

    And, actually, I have to put you up there with Amy Reads for me. Both of you manage to put books on my radar I have never heard of. Thanks so much!

  6. Jeanne

    I’ve been thinking–mostly idly–for a while about photographing some of my bookshelves. There are a lot of them, so it’s a big project. And (like almost everyone) I keep thinking I’m going to arrange them better. But your wish may make me actually do that sooner rather than later. I looove looking at peoples’ bookshelves, in person and virtually!

  7. Kinna

    And you’d be welcome on my couch as well :). Thanks for the mention. It’s a great list and will be adding the ones that I don’t know to my already bulging Google Reader. All the best.

  8. Melissa

    And thank YOU, everyone! I think we’re all going to break our feed readers after this week. 😉

    @Eva & Jenn: YAY! MEETUP!!!

    @Iris, Kinna, and Cass: I will SO invite myself over if I’m in your neighborhood. You’ve been warned! 😛

Leave a Reply

