BBAW Day 2: Meet Heather!

Today’s one of my favorite BBAW events: blogger interviews! This year I was paired up with the lovely Heather from Capricious Reader. Heather and I have some very similar tastes in books, so I was particularly excited to get a book recommendation from her!

Without further ado…

Tell us three non-book related things about yourself.

Well, let’s see here…what is interesting…hmm…I don’t know! I asked my daughter and this is what she said:

1-I’m a good person
2-I’m her mommy
3-and I love her

I think that fits the bill pretty nicely.

How would you describe your blog to someone who’s never been there?

A hodgepodge of all the things I love; books, gardening, kids, photography, words, etc, etc, etc. Lots of love goes on there, in a somewhat haphazard style.

I saw on your blog that you’ve been blogging for five(!) years now. What’s your secret to not burning out?

Actually, it’s been 6! I started January 2005. I have burned out several times and, for me, the best way to avoid it is to just take a break. I’ve taken as long as three weeks off, but mostly I just take a week. Usually I find something to get excited about, be in a book, a picture, or a recipe, that will bring me out of hiding. I just have too much to say, I suppose!

How do you choose what you’re going to read next? As a blogger, do you stick to some kind of review schedule? And what I really want to know: how in the world do you read so much while juggling two kids?

Being such a capricious reader (did you see what I did there? yeah? ha!), at times I have a hard time finding my next read. I have to go with whatever speaks to me at that moment. I have several favorite books, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie immediately comes to mind, that I’ve had to try to read several times before it “took.” I tried Sweetness three times before I was able to get into it.

I don’t really keep a schedule persay. I USED to do that, but it was way too restrictive for me, and I burned out after about a year. I lost a lot of readers the year I went through a blogging blowout, as I like to call it, but now that I don’t follow a schedule, don’t accept as many review books, and, well, pretty much do whatever the heck I want with my blog, things have gotten a LOT easier.

As for finding time, that makes me laugh. I never have time! There is so much I want to do! Most of my blogging takes place early in the mornings, before the kiddos even get up. That’s when I write up posts and read blogs.

Is there an author whose book you would buy no questions asked, even if you knew nothing of the plot?

Patrick Ness. Neil Gaiman. Bill Willingham. Jeff Smith. JK Rowling. Libba Bray. Angela Carter (if she could ever write again). Elizabeth Kostova. Audrey Niffenegger. And it looks like Erin Morgestern will join that list.

On that note, looking at the books you’ve read so far this year, I see we have a lot of similar tastes. Name one book I absolutely must read.

One? One book? Are you serious? I don’t know if I can limit myself to just…one…book……… okay. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Call me when you are a blubbering mess and we’ll cry together.

Confession time: how many books are in your TBR pile?

Ha. Ha ha. Ha ha ha. Oh dear. Probably 300. At least. I know, I’m embarrassed (yet secretly very proud) too.

Goodreads or LibraryThing? Why?

I use both, but if I had to pick, it would be LibraryThing. I know more people over there.

What is one talent you wish you had?

That’s a hard one. I’m one of those people who can do lots of things; draw, play intruments, sing, cook, speak French, etc, etc, but I can’t do them very well. I don’t accel at anything, mainly because I don’t have the patience to take it any further. I am horrible at practicing! I almost majored in music, but decided it would be too much work. My French teacher in college wanted me to major in that, but I definitely knew that would be too much work. If I had to pick though, I would love to be able to sew. That is one thing I’ve never learned how to do even half-assed.

You are stuck in an elevator for 24 hours, but you had the foresight to pack snacks. Did you go salty or sweet?

I’d have a Pay Day. Salty AND sweet. *giggle*

Thanks for the interview, Heather! It was fun. πŸ™‚

You can read my answers to Heather’s questions here.

6 comments

  1. Andi (Estella's Revenge)

    So great to β€œmeet” you, Melissa! Heather is one of my oldest buddies in the blogosphere. We met 10 years ago (!!!) in online book discussion groups, and we transitioned into blogging around the same time. I can’t wait to read more of your blog! Loved your interview and the Q&A you did with Heather here.

    And sorry! Originally (accidentally) posted this on your About page. Disregard. Not enough coffee this morning. Yet.

  2. amymckie

    Love the questions and answers, Heather got many ‘right’ by my standards. hehe. LT over GR, A Monster Calls as a recommendation, etc. πŸ˜€ In all honesty, love her site and thanks for these great questions!

  3. Erin

    6 years, wow! In my much shorter time blogging, I’ve found breaks to be essential. It took me a while to be ok with taking them, but they can be a lifesaver. I love your daughter’s description of you — so sweet! And I cannot WAIT for A Monster Calls…so looking forward to it!

  4. Audra (Unabridged Chick)

    I loved this interview — loved the questions, loved Heather’s responses. Six years is amazing, and I think her advice is so good — also, I love meeting another capricious reader! I’m in my first real year of schedule reviews and it’s insane/intense — I can appreciate why a huge break would be needed.

Leave a Reply

