Esmeralda Santiago on learning about her heritage

Here’s Esmeralda Santiago on PBS News Hour, talking about the researching and developing her latest book Conquistadora, which is set in nineteenth century Puerto Rico. I love hearing what she has to say about learning her family history. Also, I had no idea that she had a stroke and had to re-learn how to read and write!

I’ve never read any of her books, but I own a few of them. I need to get on that ASAP! She sounds like such an interesting woman.

2 comments

  1. pagesofjulia

    Have you read or heard of Jill Bolte Taylor’s My Stroke of Insight, about recovering from a stroke? I recommend it. She was a brain scientist who retained a remarkable consciousness of her predicament throughout; it’s a fascinating story. I read it after recovering from a (less serious, but serious) brain injury myself and it was moving and helpful for me.

Leave a Reply

