Favorites of 2011: Memoir

As I said in yesterday’s post, I’m splitting my nonfiction lists into three parts. Today’s list: memoirs. I almost never used to read memoirs, but it seems I couldn’t stop picking them up in 2011! I listed my favorites in alphabetical order by title.

Let’s Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship by Gail Caldwell (2010)

“I had a friend and we shared everything, and then she died and so we shared that, too.” And so begins Caldwell’s beautiful tribute to her friend Caroline Knapp, who died in 2002 at the age of 42. I’m not gonna lie: I actually burst into tears at one point.

Book cover: Little Princes by Conor GrennanLittle Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan (2011)

Conor Grennan signed up for a 3-month stint as a volunteer at the Little Princes Children’s Home in Nepal, but ended up returning to become more involved in the fight against child trafficking. Aside from a few issues I mentioned in my review, I did love the story.

Book cover: "Never the Hope Itself: Love and Ghosts in Haiti and Latin America" by Gerry HaddenNever the Hope Itself: Love and Ghosts in Latin America and Haiti by Gerry Hadden (2011)

A fast-paced, very enjoyable look at the life of an NPR correspondent who covered Haiti, Central America, and Mexico. Hadden also provides interesting insight on how those areas of the world changed after the events of September 11. Read my review here.

Persepolis 1 and 2  by Marjane Satrapi (2007)

I read these as two separate books because my library doesn’t carry The Complete Persepolis. But if you’ve seen the Oscar-winning movie, you have a good idea what these graphic novels are about: Satrapi writes about her life before and after her parents send her away from Iran because of the revolution. I loved both books.

Season to Taste: How I Lost My Sense of Smell and Found My Way by Molly Birnbaum (2011)

What’s it like to lose your sense of smell? I kind of already know the answer to that since I have no sense of smell, but I thought this book was fascinating nonetheless. Birnbaum’s book strikes the perfect balance of science and personal loss. Read my review here.

3 comments

  1. Melissa

    I nearly just fell off my seat … I have no sense of smell either. (And I’m a Melissa, too.) This book is on my want-to-read list. Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Vasilly

    See?! You’re adding MORE books to my tbr list! 🙂 Let’s Take the Long Walk Home is going on my list. If I fail the TBR Double Dare, I’m blaming you! :-O

Leave a Reply

