Another Year of Feminist Classics

A Year of Feminist Classics

One of my favorite reading projects last year was A Year of Feminist Classics. Twelve books were chosen by the hosts, and an informal monthly discussion was held online. I didn’t get to participate as much as I’d hoped, but I did get to cross a few feminist classics off my list, including the behemoth that is The Second Sex.

This year, I was invited to join as a co-host! In September I’ll be leading the discussion for Gloria Anzaldua’s book, Borderlands/La Frontera. It’s a cherished classic, especially among feminists of color. It’s one of my favorite books, and I’m doubly excited to be hosting the discussion since I live in the same borderlands Anzaldua grew up in (she’s buried less than 30 miles from where I live). I can’t wait!

There are a lot of really great books on the list for this year:

  • February – Feminism is for Everybody by bell hooks
  • March – The Book of the City of Ladies by Christine De Pizan
  • April – Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano
  • May – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë read alongside Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
  • June – Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg
  • July – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  • August – The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  • September – Borderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua
  • October – The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
  • November – Beyond the Veil by Fatema Mernissi
  • December – Women, Race, and Class by Angela Davis
  • January – Feminism Without Borders: Decolonizing Theory, Practising Solidarity by Chandra Talpade Mohanty

As you can see, some are old classics — de Pizan’s book was written in 1405! — and some are fairly recent, but all of them have made an impact. Hopefully, there’s something for everyone.

I read Feminism is for Everybody and Whipping Girl last year but didn’t get a chance to write about them (though I have plenty to say about each). I haven’t read Women, Race, and Class or Feminism Without Borders in years, and am about a decade overdue for a reread of The Bluest Eye. I (grudgingly) read Jane Eyre back in high school and only remember feeling tortured, but unlike my teenage self, I actually look forward to reading it as an adult. Many of the other books have been on my TBR list for years. My nerdy feminist self is in heaven!

Anyone can participate, and you don’t have to read every book on the list; even if you only read one of the books, we’re more than happy to welcome you into the fold.

So please…join us!

2 comments

  1. Marie

    I think i saw this list on another blog and didn’t realize it was a set list for the challenge. Neat! I love the idea of reading Jane Eyre alongside Wide Sargasso Sea, a book I need to read!

  2. amymckie

    My nerdy self is also in heaven 😀 Especially knowing there are more hosts so I won’t feel as guilty at falling behind. So excited to read these titles!

Leave a Reply

