2012: That’s a Wrap!

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed my liststravaganza (listsplosion?) this week. As is tradition, I’m finishing with this survey, then I promise to get back to reviewing books. Keep your eyes peeled later this week for my upcoming blogiversary announcement…it is a good one!

Oldest book read: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (1844)

Longest book read: Also The Count of Monte Cristo (1276 pages)

Most-read review: This one completely blew my mind and kind of still does: How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. I posted that thing at midnight, and by the time I woke up it was already the most-viewed post in the history of this blog. It went on to get who knows how many thousands of views at PostBourgie and ONTD, and then Feministing linked to the review, so it’s gotten a few thousand hits on this blog too. I’m just like…whoa.

Favorite bookish moment: I had a few: being a finalist for a Goodreads award was really cool. Participating in World Book Night was a lot of fun (and before Caitlin Moran happened, that was my most-read post). And, of course, meeting Junot again!

Guiltiest pleasure: 50 Shades of Grey. It is atrociously stupid, I mocked it mercilessly, and I don’t know how anyone can get off on that because personally I was too busy laughing, but um…I plan to read the other two.

Most pleasant surprise: Second Person Singular by Sayed Kashua. Little did I know it would become my favorite book of 2012.

Favorite blogger recommendation: American Dervish by Ayad Akhtar, which I saw at S. Krishna’s Books. This is one of my honorable mentions for my favorite novels of 2012.

Most disappointing: How to Be a Woman. You know there’s a problem when the only 1-star ratings you give in a year are to a “feminist” book and a book written by one of the biggest misogynist douches of all time (see below).

Biggest triumph: Rabbit is Rich. I HATE UPDIKE.

Favorite reread: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

Most disturbing: A memoir: First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung. So sad!

Favorite new-to-me authors I discovered in 2012: Sayed Kashua, Maria Semple, Domingo Martinez, Eowyn Ivey, Amanda Coplin, M. L. Stedman, Suzanne Collins, Margot Livesey, Adrian Tomine, and Alexandre Dumas

Favorite book covers of 2012:

Book cover: I Am An Executioner by Rajesh Parameswaran      The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey      Book cover: Where'd You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple

Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012: Breasts completely freaked me out.

Book you can’t believe you waited until 2012 to finally read: The Good Earth.

2 comments

  1. Lu

    Happy New Year, Melissa! I don’t think I read any of the books you listed here, but that just means that my TBR is growing and growing. Which is not bad thing 🙂 Have a wonderful 2013!

Leave a Reply

