Sunday Salon: An Announcement, a Request, and a List

I know the blog has been a little quiet as of late. As some of you know, I’m in my second semester of my MLIS degree. Even though last semester is the one where I had like a billion 10-20 page papers due, for some reason it feels like I’m doing so much more work this semester even though I haven’t had any monstrously long assignments. It’s not hard, but it is time consuming! I’m having fun with it, though (even though it’s slowing down my leisure reading). My posting might also be a little lighter than usual this month because I usually spend February gearing up for Women’s History Month…I’ll be holding onto those reviews until March, but I do have several reviews for February in the works.

Moving on to the good stuff…

My (belated) announcement: Over a hundred people entered my blogiversary giveaway for the signed copy of This Is How You Lose Her. I used a random number generator to pick the winner, so congratulations to Teronda! Hope you enjoy the book! 🙂

My request: This April, I’ll be up in Austin participating in the 4th Annual National Abortion Access Bowl-a-Thon. The money my team raises will go to The Lilith Fund, which provides financial assistance to low-income women who need abortions. Speaking of my team…we’re The Bridesmaids, and we’re going to be stylin’ in bridesmaids dresses while we bowl. There will be pictures. And probably video. I’d appreciate donations in any amount, even if all you can swing is $1.

And finally, my list: A few weeks ago, a commenter asked for feminist book recommendations written by women of color. While I have a list of books I frequently recommend, I thought it would be interesting to take it to Twitter as well. I tweeted, “feminist books by women of color that everyone should read…go!” Twitter was awesome: Your crowd-sourced guide to feminist books by women of color is Storified here, and I turned the responses into a Goodreads list here. Feel free to keep adding to the Goodreads list if you think of anything else!

3 comments

  1. mdbrady

    Great list! I hope lots of people see it and read the books. You list my favorites and some that I am glad to hear about. As always, thanks. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

