Top Ten Tuesday: Vive la France!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Summer13 TBR Top Ten Reads

Today’s topic is the top ten books on your summer TBR list. Last year, I bought the beautiful clothbound Penguin Classics edition of Les Misérables and was saving it for this summer. I started reading it June 2 and am a little over halfway through. Reading the book has put me in a French mood, so seven of the books on my list are set in France:

  1. Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery* – I’m eager to revisit some of the cast of The Elegance of the Hedgehog. I loved that book.
  2. How the French Invented Love by Marilyn Yalom* – I’m always up for French-related cultural nonfiction, and this book sounds amazing.
  3. Jacob’s Folly by Rebecca Miller – I pre-ordered this and have had it for months but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. I was waiting for the spring semester to be over, so this one’s pretty high on my TBR list.
  4. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo* – This is what inspired the direction of my summer reading, so of course it has to go on the list!
  5. Lotería by Mario Alberto Zambrano – This book comes out in July. I have an advance copy, and just skimming, I’m already intrigued by how the book is set up.
  6. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert* – I got the much-hyped Lydia Davis translation of this book a couple of years ago, but it’s been sitting on my shelf ever since. Hopefully, this is the year I get to it!
  7. The Most Beautiful Walk in the World by John Baxter* – I’ve read two of Baxter’s books. I love him because his travel writing straight-up transports you to France.
  8. Perfume by Patrick Süskind* – This has been on my shelf for years. I snagged a copy at a library sale a little after the movie came out…if the movie is that twisted, I imagine the book is even more awesome.
  9. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving – I’m one of the few people on earth who has never read this book. The Estella Society is doing a readalong in July, so I’m in! *dusts off copy*
  10. The Sexual Life of an Islamist in Paris by Leïla Marouane* – I got a copy of this a few of months ago for the Europa Editions challenge, and it’s also high up on my list.

* Vive la France!

5 comments

  1. Becky

    Oh, I love that edition of LES MIS! Funny story, I borrowed it one summer from my grandmother and LOVED it. Then realized later that I actually read a Readers Digest abridged edition from the 60s. One of these days I might actually get around to reading the full length book.

Leave a Reply

