Sunday Salon: A to Z Reading

WHAT’S UP?!

As you may have noticed, I kind of dropped off the face of Earth from late August up until this week. Soooo many things going on. As of mid-August, I had taught myself how to make a quilt and was working on my second quilt when I got offered full-time hours for this school year. And not just full-time…I’m actually teaching an overload this semester: six classes! Meanwhile, I’m also taking three classes for my MLIS. One is Beginner Spanish for library professionals, one is a very cool LGBTIQ Services course, and the last one is a mobile app design course. Needless to say, the last month has been reallyreallyreally  hectic.

I think I’ve finally gotten into my little groove for the semester where things aren’t completely out of control. I know this because I’m semi-back to reading at my former pace. (I’ll get there on the reviews. Eventually.)

Anyway, one of my assignments this week for the LGBTIQ class was to check out a LGBTIQ book blog, and my pick was Sistahs on the Shelf. While I was there, I scoped out this book-related survey and decided I wanted it on it, too. I haven’t done one of these in forever!

Author I’ve Read the Most Books From

#sorrynotsorry: Jonathan Franzen. I’ve read 5 of his 7 books. Yes, for pleasure. Jennifer Haigh, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Sandra Cisneros come in second at 4 books each.

Best Sequel Ever

I don’t really read too many books with sequels.

Currently Reading

Perv: The Sexual Deviant in All of Us by Jesse Bering, which has been disturbing yet fascinating so far; Paris Was Ours edited by Penelope Rowlands, an anthology of essays about living in Paris; and The Black Count by Tim Reiss, which I’m loving, especially since I just read The Count of Monte Cristo last year.

Drink of Choice While Reading

I don’t really eat or drink while I’m reading, but if I do, it’s usually beer or water. I know, from one extreme to the other. lol

E-reader or Physical Book?

I read a lot of both, but I’d say 95% of my purchases are physical books.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School

Totally comin’ up blank here.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon. Books like that are why I try to keep reading a book even if I’m not feelin’ the beginning. That book ended up being one of my favorite reads of that year.

Hidden Gem Book

Second Person Singular by Sayed Kashua. So, so good!

Important Moment in Your Reading Life

Reading Bookslut’s Junot Diaz interview right before The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao was released. Because then who’d I be obsessed with, huh?

Just Finished

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri. I love her!

Kind of Books I Won’t Read

Harry Potter books. HA!

Longest Book Read

The Count of Monte Cristo (1276 pages), which beat out Les Miserables by about 40 pages.

Major Book Hangover Because Of

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan. Because damn.

Number of Bookcases You Own

2, both overflowing.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Preferred Place To Read

In bed or on the couch.

Quote That Inspires You/Gives You All the Feels From a Book You’ve Read

Uhh…most of my favorite quotes are twisted and/or depressing. That’s how I roll. (Which reminds me: I really should update that Tumblr.)

Reading Regret

That I’ll have to read another John Updike book if I want to complete my Pulitzer project. (Though I guess that’s more of a torture than a regret.)

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series)

50 Shades, which I actually DO want to finish. It’s pure comedy.

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books

East of Eden by John Steinbeck, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, and Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros.

Unapologetic Fangirl For

Jonathan Franzen. I CAN’T HELP IT!

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others

A lot of my highly-anticipated fall releases are already out and I already have them (Bender, Lahiri, Carter). I guess now let’s go with the deluxe edition of This Is How You Lose Her that comes out next month. It’s illustrated by Jaime Hernandez! Also, the Penguin clothbound edition of Anna Karenina that comes out in December. Both are already pre-ordered!

Worst Bookish Habits

Falling asleep while still holding a book or ereader above my face. Ow.

X Marks the Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book

Goddess of the Americas edited by Ana Castillo. It’s a collection of essays about the Virgen the Guadalupe, and I had Sandra Cisneros sign her essay.

Your latest book purchase

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri and The Awesome Girl’s Guide to Dating Extraordinary Men by Ernessa T. Carter (which I’m reading next).

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

The Sunday Salon.com

3 comments

  1. guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader)

    Oh man, what a list of books and authors 🙂 I’ve never read anything by Franzen. And as for Chabon, Kavalier and Clay is on the TBR … I just finished Telegraph Avenue and, holy crow, if I didnt give it a chance, I would’ve missed out on a really good read! (Are you going to take a pic of your quilt/s? I’m curious now)

  2. Pingback: This Is What I Read: The A To Z Survey - School of Smock

Leave a Reply

