A Girl Walks into a Wedding

Book cover: A Girl Walks into a Wedding by Helena S. PaigeA GIrl Walks into a Wedding is the second book by Helena S. Paige, the pseudonym of co-authors Helen Moffett, Sarah Lotz, and Paige Nick. I was really curious about it because of its format, something I’d seen before in erotica ebooks and in children’s books (ha!) but never in print books aimed at adults: you’re given multiple scenarios and periodically get to decide your own fate.

The plot, if you can call it that, is pretty straightforward: your best friend is about to get married and you’re her bridesmaid. You choose things like whether your dress is tasteful or hideous, and whether or not to take the new guy you’re dating to the wedding or to go solo. From there it branches out even more: Do you want to have a one night stand? Is the guy you’ve chosen a total bore? Do you catch your best friend doing naughty things the night before the wedding? You get the idea.

As you can imagine, it’s pure fluff. I’d always wondered what this type of format would be like in print format, and now I know. It’s weird. You’re given a choice, then you’re directed to go to page__ for X scenario or to page __ for Y scenario; I think this format is better suited for ebook because tapping the link of your choice is less awkward than finding the right page and seeing a bunch of “The Ends” along the way. It also makes the book reaaaally short. The earliest point I saw “The End” was on page 97, and that included several skipped sections where you had jump to your scenario of choice.

I took the naughtier route and ended up somewhere around page 300. The book is not erotica, by the way, but it does have a couple of short erotic scenes (presumably in each scenario). I skipped around and read a few of the other options and saw a few. All of the scenarios are pretty cliche.

All of this might be okay — I mean, I wasn’t exactly expecting literary fiction — but the authors could have at least followed through when giving you choices. Here’s one non-plot-related example: at one point, I was given a choice of whether to get a bikini wax or get a massage. I go to the wax page in order to torture my character (technically “me”), only to find a paragraph telling me that “the heating machine caught on fire,” so go to the massage page. It was dumb. That happened a couple of time with actual plot points as well. I, of course, wanted to be evil, and instead, I’d find the equivalent of, “you don’t really want to do that. Go to X page.” Grr. What ever happened to your fantasy, your rules?!!

I have no problem with silly “junk food” books, and parts of this book were entertaining (dumb, but entertaining), but this one could have been executed sooooo much better. If the authors had followed through and really let readers explore the consequences of their choices, I probably would have liked it a lot more.

A Girl Walks into a Wedding was released on May 27, 2014 by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins.

Goodreads | Amazon
I read it as a(n): ARC
Source: Publisher
Pages: 320

2 comments

  1. Athira

    Sounds like this would be better as an interactive book game, than an actual book. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book like this – it has me intrigued!

  2. Pingback: Quickies: Unrequited & Choose Your Shot | Feminist Texican Reads

Leave a Reply

