Women’s Prize for Fiction Project

About the prize: “The Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly known as the Orange Prize for Fiction) celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. The winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. Both are anonymously endowed.”

2013: May We Be Forgiven by A.M. Homes

2012: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

2011: The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht

2010: The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

2009: Home by Marilynne Robinson

2008: The Road Home by Rose Tremain

2007: Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

2006: On Beauty by Zadie Smith

2005: We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

2004: Small Island by Andrea Levy

2003: Property by Valerie Martin

2002: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

2001: The Idea of Perfection by Kate Grenville

2000: When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant

1999: A Crime in the Neighborhood by Suzanne Berne

1998: Larry’s Party by Carol Shield

1997: Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels

1996: A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s